Gorgeous, flowing, melodic black metal that is more likely to make you swoon with sadness than succumb to insanity.”

Teeth of the Divine


Murfreesboro, Tennessee-based melodic black metal/death metal outfit Oubliette is proud to officially announce the upcoming July 13th release of their sophomore full-length, The Passage. The album will see release through The Artisan Era. The Passage was recorded and mixed by Oubliette's own Mike Low, with Anagnorisis member Zak Denham handling the album's mastering. The stunning cover art for the album was created by Justin Abraham who has done cover art for groups such as A Loathing Requiem, Aepoch, and Lecherous Nocturne. 

Oubliette came to life in 2011 as a studio project started by husband and wife duo, Mike Low (Inferi) and Emily Low. Over time the group gained a full line-up and released their well-received debut album Apparitions in 2014. In the time since Apparitions was released, the group's line-up has been re-tooled and now features two members of well-known black/death outfit Enfold Darkness in their ranks. In total, The Passage features three guitarists, something uncommon in the world of black metal, but used to exceedingly powerful and dynamic effect here. 

The Passage is a mournful yet often uplifting voyage into icy domains and fiery blazing storms that combines the best of what black metal and death metal has to offer into one multi-faceted package. The group's brand of melodic black metal incorporates ideas from all over the black metal spectrum, then fuses their core framework with a hefty dose of old-school melodic death metal inspired by early In Flames and others. Stay tuned for the launch of the album's first single which will see release on Tuesday, May 22nd.


Emily Low | Vocals 
Mike Low | Guitar 
Todd Harris | Guitar 
Andrew Wampler | Guitar 
James Turk | Bass 
Greg Vance | Drums